History of Oldfields School
Oldfields School, Maryland's oldest girls' boarding school, is situated on more than 200 acres in Baltimore County. Anna Austen McCulloch founded the school in 1867, when she and her family moved into an old farmhouse on her brother's land in Glencoe, Maryland.
Built in the 1700s, the modest clapboard home still stands as the oldest building at Oldfields and is affectionately known as "Old House." Mrs. McCulloch educated the younger members of her family and a few local children in her home.
The lessons she taught created the foundation for the philosophy and tradition that Oldfields embraces today.
The history of Oldfields School is rich with innovation. Oldfields was one of the first girls' schools to introduce chemistry into its curriculum. In 1878, Oldfields pioneered one of the first riding programs in the country, and in 1912, a gym was built, one of the first at a girls' school south of the Mason-Dixon line.
Oldfields has always boasted an educational program that meets the needs of each individual student. The School's student to faculty ratio is among the lowest in the nation. Oldfields faculty is trained to use different methods and tools to meet the diverse learning needs of each student. The School also utilizes SMARTBoard interactive whiteboards in the classrooms.
While Oldfields maintains its status as one of the top all-girls' boarding schools in the country, the School's history and integrity are never lost. Oldfields is rooted on a campus that has been part of the Baltimore legacy for 145 years. Within these roots is the work of every teacher, student, and staff member who has passed through the School and affected our community in some way.